Digital Skills: Unlocking the Information SocietyDigital Skills: Unlocking the Information Society by Jan A. G. M. van Dijk

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I got this book because I believed it would support research I am working on this semester about the digital divide and libraries. It certainly accomplished this and so much more. As someone who has spent a fair number of years helping people of all ages and backgrounds to gain digital skills in order to improve their lives, this book provided some really interesting context for my work. While I always had my suspicions and ideas on how people learned and why they learned, I had never done much research to support these theories rolling around in my head. The empirical research done in this field was fascinating to read. The framework suggested by these authors to more effectively tackle the issue of the second level digital divide that we are now facing (skills deficits contributing to the marginalization of certain groups) makes sense to me and has me considering fundamental shifts in how I tackle this issue in my own work moving forward.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

