My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

My Life on the RoadMy Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I must admit that it is tempting to look at the progress made in my lifetime and the opportunities that have been open to me and to start to believe that the fight for equal rights has been won or at least nearing the finish line. Unfortunately, this is not the case at all. This kind of thinking is simply that of a woman with many privileges that others could only dream of having. There are still so many injustices in this world that we as women need to fight for. Earnings of women are still not equal to those of men. Millions of women are raising children without the support of the fathers who helped create them. While domestic violence is now at least named and viewed in a negative light due almost completely to the feminist movement of the past few decades—it is still happening and women are losing their lives to this type of violence and are even still being blamed in many instances for instigating the abuse. Millions of women are victims of sex trafficking. I could go on and on with these examples, and I probably should. Every woman should continue to speak out on behalf of other women until the injustice has ended. This is what makes this latest book by Gloria Steinem so important. My Life on the Road is a collection of remembrances of an activist who has dedicated her life to organizing women on behalf of other women. She shares deeply about her upbringing and the series of lessons she learned while traveling. The people she met on the road helped fuel the fire to keep the fight going in an effort to continue to help more and more women. The stories are personal and span across her entire lifetime, but remarkably all feel relevant to today’s times and issues. This emotional book will bring tears to your eyes, and just might push you to view the world from a slightly different perspective than that which you have been looking. Thank you, Ms. Steinem.

View all my reviews

One thought on “My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

  1. Over the past five years, I too have been on the road. I wish that my state of mind befor now. I would have been able to have helped other people like rex reed, the many others who came to me, to engage me and my gift. Now is the time, I am back, here and present for you and those who allow me to intervine. Let us continue to change the course of history.

Leave a Reply

