Craftsy: Design and Sew an A-Line Skirt with Deborah Moebes

I realize this blog is starting to seem like a Deborah Moebes fan site, but her online learning experiences have really helped me get started with my skirt project. I mentioned the Craftsy class in my Get and Go Skirt Pattern review, but I finally uploaded pictures and wanted to share the link. For $30, I have had a lot of fun with this self-paced online class. The videos were extremely high quality and I have completed 3 A-Line skirts so far, all different variations shown in the class. I really can’t recommend the class enough. I am not sure how many times I have watched and re-watched the videos to get through each skirt, but luckily it doesn’t matter! I was able to create the different variations without too much frustration because I really paid attention when Deborah recommended getting a roll of Swedish tracing paper in the very first video. They didn’t have it at my local craft store and I almost tried to make due with something else, but I am glad I just went ahead and ordered a roll online. It is really nice stuff and lets you really get your feet wet with pattern construction. Most important– the skirts fit me! There are some real advantages of drafting your own patterns in some cases over using a commercial one, and a skirt is a nice way to try it out.

My Craftsy Project Page (with photos and link to the course details): http://www.craftsy.com/project/view/a-line-skirts/267965

Pink Paisley with Bias Tape Waist was my first skirt that I made for this class.
Pink Paisley with Bias Tape Waist was my first skirt that I made for this class.
This fun pink floral pattern was a bit too see-through, so it is lined in the same green cotton seen in the yoke waistband.
This fun pink floral pattern was a bit too see-through, so it is lined in the same green cotton seen in the yoke waistband.
This ruffle damn near killed me, but it's on there. I wanted to try out some of the accessories like pockets mentioned in the class.
This ruffle damn near killed me, but it’s on there. I wanted to try out some of the accessories like pockets mentioned in the class.
Leave a Reply

