Sew Me! Sewing Basics: Simple Techniques and Projects for First-Time Sewers

Sew Me! Sewing Basics: Simple Techniques and Projects for First-Time SewersSew Me! Sewing Basics: Simple Techniques and Projects for First-Time Sewers by Choly Knight

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For someone with limited sewing experience, this was a great read. The author assumes no prior experience, so for me this was a great way to start my newest sewing project by brushing up on topics I had tried before but forgotten; I also learned a few techniques that I haven’t yet attempted. The book offers a brief introduction to sewing basics then jumps right into project activities so the reader has a chance to practice their newly learned skills. I did not do any of the suggested projects but appreciated reading through the explanations to get an idea of how the concepts worked on a real object. The projects were youthful in nature and geared towards a teenager or young adult audience—plush kitties and cuff bracelets, for instance. The only sections which left me a little disappointed were the zipper and working with knits sections, which I personally could have used much more explanation with.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

