Quiet by Susan Cain

Sometimes a book’s message stays with you days or weeks after you have finished reading it. That is what has happened to me and Quiet.

I resisted reading this book for quite a while. For most of my life, I have disliked many of my introverted tendencies. I was always shy and “tested” as an introvert on the tests I took in school, but when I went away to school and then started working the job of my dreams a few years later I found that I needed to develop a few extroverted tendencies in order to succeed in the environment that surrounded me. When I first heard of the book Quiet a few years ago, I assumed it would be a celebration of the introvert and I doubted I could get excited about dismissing the progress I feel I’ve made throughout my adult life. The book fascinated me from the get-go, however. It is a celebration of the qualities which make introverts special, but it also acknowledged a need for both introverts and extroverts to adapt and reach outside of what feels comfortable in order to get along and work well with those around us. It also strives to get everyone to understand that people are different and need different things in order to be their best. I really like that message.

Quiet uses research studies, interviews, and the author’s personal perspective to bring about a greater understanding of the introverted qualities which makes half our population special.

If you are interested in hearing more from Susan Cain about this interesting topic, watch her TED video: http://www.ted.com/talks/susan_cain_the_power_of_introverts 

Leave a Reply

