Nancy Drew: The Demon of River Heights

This was my first graphic novel reading experience. I grew up loving the Nancy Drew stories, so maybe I had too high expectations. But this was not quite what I was hoping for. What I liked included the up-to-date topics included in the storyline. I mean, environmental pollution was brought up and technology was woven throughout the character’s activities. These up-to-date features are necessary, I think, for young girls to be engaged in the plot. What disappointed me was the lack of depth that this format allowed. It’s hard to get attached to characters if you only get small snippets of their dialogue on which to judge. I am glad I gave this a whorl, but won’t read another.

Leave a Reply

