Bout of Books 8.0

ImageThe Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Time Devoted to Reading

I will be reading every day! My goals are:
1 hr per day Monday – Friday
3 hrs per day on Saturday & Sunday

My Goals

  • Read or listen to at least one “Must Read” book from the title suggestions from Genreflecting, Seventh Edition – edited by Cynthia Orr & Diana Tixier Herald
  • Read at least one professional title
  • Read one book which will motivate me to practice the guitar
  • Read one book that is silly
  • Read at least three professional articles related to my field
  • Read one inspirational or spiritual book
  • Read at least one graphic novel
  • Read a kids’ book
  • Add three titles to my library’s “What to Read Next” Pinterest board
  • Review everything I read this week on my blog and Goodreads.

Books to Read

  • STEM Student Research Handbook
  • Articles about library instruction for Science Classrooms
  • Haven’t decided on the rest yet – as long as it meets the goals above, I’m all in!

Updates

How did I do?
Bout of Books was a fun challenge to participate in. My total number of books read was not anything special, however. I started and finished a Nancy Drew Graphic Novel (and reviewed it). I also listened to most of a Carl Hiaasen book that I’ll finish up during my commuting this week. I also kept chugging away at the STEM Student Research Handbook that I am slowly trying to make my way through. I am also almost done with Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time by Marcus Borg. I got in the mood for a classic on Saturday and am halfway through Virginia Woolf’s To the Lighthouse. I’m glad I participated in this challenge because it did stretch me in terms of thinking about what I read and and that I sometimes get in a rut and need to mix things up. The challenges and twitter chats were a ton of fun!

 

Leave a Reply

