A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

When a book’s setting takes place in a church where the windows are covered in newspaper – you know something bad has happened or about to happen. A Land More Kind Than Home had me captivated from the beginning and didn’t let go the entire 300 pages. A young boy who is mute gets mixed up with a mother who was depressed, a church which had lost its way, and a shady preacher. Through the narration of several different characters, this book highlights the fact that people have a tendency to get so confused and hurt each other in unimaginable ways.  Even though I knew this story was fiction—I was still glued to the tragedy and found myself hoping for a positive outcome yet fearing that was impossible. I was shocked, sad, happy, and bittersweet all at the same time by the conclusion. Despite the emotional upheaval, I am very glad I read the book. I would love to discuss it in a book club sometime. So many issues could be tackled!

I had the pleasure of meeting the author, Wiley Cash, last weekend, so his voice was my narrator through the book, which ended up being perfect. If he hasn’t recorded an audio version, he really should!

Leave a Reply

