NCDD’s Summer Book Club: Democratizing Deliberation

I have signed up to take part in an online summer book club. The National Coalition for Dialogue & Deliberation (NCDD) “promotes the use of dialogue, deliberation, and other innovative group processes to help people come together across differences to tackle our most challenging problems.”

I first learned of this organization through an ALA webinar series I took recently: Hosting Public Forums @ your library. This summer NCDD is discussing the new book coming out from the Kettering Foundation– Democratizing Deliberation. I am very interested in learning as much as I can about the topic of deliberation before I launch a program series at the library where I work, and participating in an online book club with over 125 others who are interested in the topic seems like a fun way to learn and get through this small but mighty book. I was lucky enough to learn about the program a while ago and was able to obtain a review copy of the book from the Kettering Foundation.

I look forward to sharing what I learn from the book and from this discussion with others. Chapter summaries and discussion areas are open to all and can be accessed from NCDD’s blog.

 

Leave a Reply

