Fifty Shades of Grey

I was simply curious. What could be so bad about a book that would cause public libraries in Florida to pull the book from its collections? So, I read Fifty Shades of Grey.

Was it great fiction?
No.
Do I think it is worth all the fuss?
No.
Did it cause me to think deeply or meaningfully in any way?
No.
Do I think it is good enough to earn its place on the New York Times Bestseller List for so many weeks in a row?
No.
Do I think it should be available for check out from public libraries?
Of course.

The fact is, I have read much worse. In fact– if you take the premise of what most people are saying is so offensive about the book (the bondage), I have to say it’s a weak argument. The book features two consenting adults and how they choose to pursue their relationship. It was a whole lot less disturbing than say, any Harlequin book, the classic Lolita, or more recently The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

It’s a romance novel, that’s all. For most people this kind of reading is a distraction–a fun, entertaining and quick read. I hope the public library always offers plenty of reading choices to suit everyone’s tastes.

 
 
 
One thought on “Fifty Shades of Grey

Leave a Reply

